Shaundy is top driver for 2011
Front Page
January 31, 2012
Shaundy is top driver for 2011

Shaundy St Hillaire was last Thursday evening named Driver of the Year, when the St Vincent and the Grenadines Automobile Association held its 2011 Awards and Presentation Ceremony at Paradise Inn at Villa.{{more}}

St Hillaire surpassed the other thirty drivers who were in contention for the top award.

It was St Hillaire’s third lien on the accolade, having achieved consecutive titles for 2007 and 2008.

St Hillaire, who has been involved in competitive motor racing for over a decade, excelled in 2011, at the Hill Sprints and Acceleration Tests events, put on by the association.

In addition, St Hillaire is in line to receive a replica of the impressive Past Presidents’ Challenge Trophy.

Taking the first ever Rookie Driver of the Year award was Jason Moussa, while Sharon Skerritt was adjudged the Marshall of the Year, and Rawlson Mofford, the Rookie Marshall of the Year.

In addition, all 31 drivers who participated in the association’s activities last year, were presented with medallions.

The association also used to occasion to reward those persons who participated and successfully completed training in Marshalling, First Aid and Cardiac Pulmonary Resuscitation(CPR), who were presented with their certificates.

The Rainbow Radio League, the Street Tuners Auto Club and Barbadian Jefferson Bovell were given plaques for their contribution to the association.

The ceremony was addressed by President of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Automobile Association Steve Ollivierre, also the Immediate Past President Art Huggins, Minister of National Mobilisation, Youth, Culture, Sports, etc. Hon. Frederick Stephenson and Commissioner of Police Keith Miller.

Ollivierre recapped the activities of the Association for the past year and gave an insight into those on the agenda for 2012.

Ollivierre stated that the Diamond Dirt Track will be again up and running.

Both Stephenson and Miller commended the association for an impressive ceremony, and lauded the discipline of the drivers.

Miller revealed that because of their disciplined drivers, he readily grants the Association permission to host its events.

The St Vincent and the Grenadines Automobile Association was formed in 1971. (RT)