Front Page
February 24, 2006

Controversy seems to surround him. He has come in for accolades and condemnations, as his career rolls on. Pamenos Ballantyne, the acclaimed Vincentian distance runner, notched up another chapter at the 2005 Sports awards.

Ballantyne took the Senior Sportsman award, which put his name in the hat for the major award of Sports Personality of the Year.

His recognition has come in the wake of his omission from the 2006 Commonwealth Team. Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves questioned Ballantyne’s ommission while handing over the Sports Personality of the Year trophy. {{more}}

Ballantyne was challenged for the award by Senior Sports Woman Julianna Nero.

It may have been a Garifuna celebration. Nero, the nation’s top batter, is ranked No.4 on World Women’s batting line up.

She staved off challenges from Sherian Slater from the Squash Racquet Association, and Alexia Glasgow, the Rugby Union candidate.

Another contender was Shane Slater who took the Junior Sportsman award, ahead of Adonson Shallow from SVG Team Athletics, and Marlon Antrobus from Cycling.

Saska Diamond, on the strength of her performance in netball, copped the Junior Sports Woman title beating off Teresha Lavia/Bess, from Women’s Cricket Association, and Josephine Charles, Rugby.

James Bentick took the Coach of the Year title, completing a respectable showing by the Squash Racquet Association. Rawlson Morgan from Team Athletics, and Ian Allen, Cricket were the other finalists.

Squash Racquet Association romped to the Association of the Year title. Their Women’s Cricket and Team Athletics SVG counterparts did not measure up according to the adjudicators. Lenford Goodluck took the Groundsman of the Year award.

Searchlight’s Rohan Thomas repeated his feat of Best Sports Story, achieved in 2004. Best Sports Photograph went to Glenford Prescott, well established in the radio and print media.

Earl ‘Ole George’ Daniel and Joel Butcher, who both walked for six days without sleep, received the National Sports Council award of Excellence.

Lynette Glasgow, a former Director of Sports, was recognised for her contribution.

Presentations were made to corporate sponsors Bottlers St. Vincent Limited, and St. Vincent Electricity Services. Terrence Davis was rewarded for his efforts in Special Olympics.

Lloyd Lewis was rewarded for his dedication to sport.